No Bake “Skinny” Peanut Butter Pie

Peanut Butter Pie

Soooo, the skinny is in quotes there for a reason.

SURE, I could have used the “low fat” Oreos for the crust (do those even exist?) and SURE, I could have used Splenda instead of real sugar, but I didn’t ok? So I’m not really sure how skinny this pie worked out.

I wanted to make a no-bake dessert for a dinner party, because my oven had been on all day and the apartment was getting hot! I had pinned this one a while ago and thought it was the perfect occasion! My (slightly) modified recipe from Sally’s Baking Addiction, which itself is modified from Skinny Taste .

Ingredients:

Peanut Butter Pie Ingredients

Oreo Cookie Crust
  • 1 cup Oreo Cookie crumbs (note: probably should have used the 24 Oreos recommended, because you miss out on the icing goey-ness, but I had the cookie crumbs, and I’m cheap…)
  • 1/4 cup light butter, melted
Filling
  • 1/2 cup + 2 Tbsp creamy peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 8 oz reduced fat cream cheese, softened
  • 8 oz fat-free thawed whipped topping
  • 1/4 cup chocolate syrup (approximately, I just drizzled until it looked right!)
  • 1 cup crushed Reese’s Pieces, divided

Directions:

  • Using your hands, mix the Oreo crumbs and melted butter together. It may look like there is not enough butter, but it will come together. Place into a 9 or 10 inch pie pan, pressing the crumbs onto the bottom and up the sides as much as it will fit. Try to make the crust 1/8 inch thick all around. It does not have to be perfect, though. Set in the freezer as you make the filling.
  • Prepare the pie filling in a large bowl by mixing the peanut butter, sugar, cream cheese, and milk. I used my KitchenAid Mixer. Mix until the mixture is completely smooth. Gently fold in the whipped topping.
  • Remove pie crust from the freezer and layer 1/2 of the pie filling onto the crust. Sprinkle with 1/2 of the crushed Reese’s Pieces. Layer with the rest of the pie filling, swirling to make it completely smooth on top. Top with chocolate syrup and remaining Reese’s Pieces. I also topped with additional whipped topping because the pie didn’t look as full as I wanted it to. On top of the topping I put the syrup and Pieces.
  • Freeze for at least 4 hours or overnight. 20 minutes before serving, remove from the freezer and let sit out to gently thaw. This made the pie much easier to cut.

Tips:

  • Put the pieces and then the chocolate syrup for a cleaner look. I did it the opposite way around and instantly regretted it – my nice clean drizzle lines were covered by powdered chocolate!
  • If you have trouble crushing the Reese’s Pieces, put them in the freezer for about an hour first. Use a food processor, or wrap them in a thick towl and hit them with a mallet (or hammer, get creative!)
  • Next time I make this, I will definitely use full cookies for the crust!

Enjoy!

Slice o' Pie

4 comments on “No Bake “Skinny” Peanut Butter Pie

  1. so glad you made it! it looks wonderful. certainly a better choice than using full fat products. now I’m hungry for some peanut butter!

  2. Harry says:

    Why did I not get a piece of that?

Leave a Reply

