Birthday Cupcakes – Yellow Buttermilk!

Happy Birthday to MEEEE!!

My birthday was at the end of September, and to celebrate, I borrowed (yet another) recipe from Martha Stewart – Yellow Buttermilk Cupcakes! This one is reminiscent of childhood birthday cakes, and was just what I needed for officially hitting my mid 20s (WOO!)

INGREDIENTS:

  • 3 cups cake flour, (not self-rising)
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2 1/4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons coarse salt
  • 1 cup plus 2 tablespoons unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 2 1/4 cups sugar
  • 5 large whole eggs plus 3 egg yolks, room temperature
  • 2 cups buttermilk, room temperature
  • 2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract

That’s a lot of eggs – AND a lot of buttermilk, AND two kinds of flour!

 

Some helpful tips…

I scooped up the cake flour at Bulk Barn – so I was able to get exactly what I needed!

I made my own buttermilk by combining milk and white vinegar – however I really wish I had just bought the carton…

This made more cupcakes I anticipated – about 24 large and 24 mini!

 

For icing, I stuck with my childhood theme (and my love of mint green icing, apparently) and made a classic combination of butter, icing sugar, and vanilla extract – easy peasy!

The result was a delicious short-bready tasting cupcake, with just the right amount of super sweet icing!

Leave a Reply

