Happy Transit of Venus! (ToV)

If you weren’t already aware, today is The Transit of Venus – in summary, Venus took a quick trip across the sun at about 6:08pm, while thousands of people (including tons of astronomers) watched on! This is the last transit of the century – so if you missed it, well… at least there are pictures!

In order to celebrate this special event (which was dear to many at my office), I decided to make some transit of Venus cupcakes!

To make the suns, I used yellow food colouring and yellow paper liners. The suns rays were made out of marshmallows, cut in half and shaken in a container with yellow sprinkles (I got this tip courtesy of my Hello Cupcake iPad app). I originally had planned to make Venus cupcakes as well, but after googling transit images, I realized a chocolate chip would suffice!

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

